Spring/Summer 2020 Fashion Picks

This current fashion season, despite living inside while stuck in “quarantine” aka Bay Area’s “shelter-in-place” order, managed to massage the materialism-inclined lobe of my mind. Mmmm and it felt good. I’ve listed some of the trends + pieces I’m loving this season.

Summer Dresses

Nothing says summer like an airy dress you can throw on with a pair of sandals. My favorites this year are brightly-colored and feature this season’s trends including: puff sleeves, tiered details, and bows/ties. 

During this epic Anti-Racism Movement, content-creators continue uplifting black-owned businesses, and fashion bloggers are no exception. Freddy My Love’s Black Owned Fashion Brands Haul! features gorgeous dresses by Lem Lem. 

Lem Lem was founded by model-turned-designer Liya Kebede and supports her native Ethiopia by creating jobs for local artisans. She incorporates centuries-old Ethiopian weaving techniques with modern, chic silhouettes. I am obsessed with her tiered-style dresses that look absolutely effortless. Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 10.31.20 PM

Semira cotton-gauze maxi dress $495

I’m also loving everything by For Love and Lemons.

Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 10.38.05 PM

Chrysanthemum Midi Dress $248 

The midi-length + high slit details are extremely on trend at the moment. As well as a dramatic puff sleeve and any kind of tie/bow detail. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 10.41.44 PM

And if you want an affordable option (like myself), Target keeps impressing me with their Universal Threads line. I just purchased this yellow dress ~on sale~ and she is so flattering. It fits more like a maxi dress than a midi on me because I’m five feet tall. I love the subtle puff sleeve + tie detailing, the bust detail, AND she has pockets.

Floral Print Puff Sleeve Dress Was $30, Now $20

Summer Sandals

Simple mules are still very on trend (since 2017, I believe) and I love how the added heel gives off that 90’s/early-2000’s cool girl fashion vibe.

Screen Shot 2020-06-17 at 11.39.54 PM

The Bottega Veneta Mules are everything. If only I had $790 to drop on shoes.

Screen Shot 2020-06-17 at 11.49.11 PM

Screen Shot 2020-06-17 at 11.49.53 PM

I’ve been loving the heeled, strappy flipflop/sandal trend. I got this pair from Urban Outfitters for $25 when they had a flash sale! I’ve worn them a few times (for grocery shopping lmfao) and they are heavy and not that comfortable tbh. But they look cute as heck, so I’ll keep wearing them.

UO Alexa Strappy Sandal $50

 

Simple Cropped Tanks

I’ve become a HOARDER for these tank tops.

As a person who is 5’0 with a short torso, crop tops + high-waisted bottoms help make me look a bit more proportional.

Below are ones that I have recently added to my basic crop top collection *_*

Screen Shot 2020-06-17 at 11.53.54 PM

Babaton Sculpt Knit Tank $58

Screen Shot 2020-06-17 at 11.57.22 PM

Topshop Stretch Cotton Sleeveless Crop Top $12

Screen Shot 2020-06-17 at 11.58.49 PM

Not a crop top, but it gives off a similar white tank top vibe. I love the square neck of this body suit + ruched bust. I purchased this on sale for $10.

Topshop Body Suit $10.98

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 12.01.31 AM

This stretchy tank is unbelievably flattering. I snagged this for $15 during a Nordstrom sale. Obsessed.

The Free People Square One Seamless Cami , $30

Mini Bags

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 12.04.06 AM

I found this bag on sale at Nordstrom for $18 and had to get it. It fits my iPhone 7 and I’m so glad because otherwise it would feel way too impractical to carry around lmfao. She’s so cute and I love how mini-bags look either on a long strap or held like a purse that just shrunk lol.

Topshop Ken Blue Mini Crossbody Bag, $35

Matching Sets

I have been ALL OVER the 90’s inspired, solid-colored loungewear set trend. A lot of folks on YouTube have been raving over Aritzia’s loungewear sets of sweaters and sweatpants (ranging from $25-$80 per piece, not sold as sets)…

Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 10.56.30 PM

Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 10.55.50 PM

Yes, these “boyfriend” sweaters — especially in that gorgeous honey beige or pale violet hues — make a girl wish it were winter again.

But alas. It doesn’t matter how many gorgeous Asian Canadian YouTubers are flaunting their Aritzia Clientele Sale sweatsuits rn — I refuse to wear sleeves.

Instead, I’ve been living for thin, cozy crop-top and booty shorts numbers BECAUSE IT’S HOT AS HELL IN CALIFORNIA.

Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 10.48.35 PM

I got this pajama set from Target’s Colsie loungewear collection and I have been living in it throughout “shelter-in-place.” Best $20 I’ve ever spent at Target.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment